Stepping up to Bat with Bubba Jones

SIY_BubbaJones_Carousel

Name: Bubba Jones

Position: First Base    

Bat: Left     Throws: Right

Height: 6’2″     Weight: 200 lbs.    

Date of Birth: 8/20/1992

Hometown: Edmonds, Washington

High School: Edmonds-Woodway High School

Twitter: @ItsBubbaJones

Previous Team (Affiliation): GCL Yankees

Who is your favorite major league baseball player?

Mike Trout, currently, because he plays hard all the time.

How do you feel about being a part of the New York Yankees organization?

It’s a dream come true. The best organization.

What are your hobbies?

Playing guitar, jetskiing, driving, listening to music…

What is your most memorable moment as a baseball player?

Walk-off home run during summer ball of 2010

What family member are you closest with?

My brother. We both play pro baseball and love the sport. He plays for the Dodgers.

While growing up, who was the most influential person in your life and why?

My dad. He led me down the right roads and I’ve always looked up to him.

What was the best advice you ever received?

“Successful people do what unsuccessful people don’t want to do” — a quote my dad lives by and I was raised on.

Besides your on the field accomplishments, what would you consider your greatest triumph and why?

Honestly, it’s playing the guitar. I first started in junior high and couldn’t play at all, but I stuck with it and it’s allowed my creative side to come out.

What’s the worst physical pain you’ve ever endured?

I got bit by a dog when I was 6. In the face…

What was the biggest challenge/obstacle you’ve ever faced and how did you overcome it?

In my junior year of high school, I only had one double all year…coaches didn’t like that and I was overlooked, so I worked on speed and power to hit 15 [doubles] my senior year.

What is your favorite…

Food? Chicken

Movie? The Change-Up

Book? The Phantom Tollbooth

TV Show? How I Met Your Mother

Video Game? Call of Duty

Athlete? Lebron James

Thing you take on the road? iPod

Leave a Reply

